跳到内容

我们的网站使用 Cookie 和其他技术,以便我们及我们的合作伙伴记住您,了解您如何使用我们的网站,并根据您的兴趣与您通信。要了解更多关于在本网站上使用 Cookie 及您可选择停用 Cookie 的程度,请点击此处。  通过继续使用本网站,您同意使用 Cookie 及我们的隐私政策
您可以通过本网站向我们提供个人信息,例如您的电子邮件地址。  有关我们如何收集、使用和分享此类信息的更多详情,请点击此处。  通过向我们提供个人信息,您同意我们根据我们的隐私政策使用该信息。

了解棉结的影响

纤维棉结一直是纺纱厂和制造商面临的挑战。在本文中,专家Yehia Elmoghazy博士回答了关于棉结对制造过程影响的常见问题。原因是什么?它们可控吗?棉结会给我的业务带来多大的成本?找到这些问题的答案,并获取更多信息。

免责声明:本文回答了越南和孟加拉国的一些纺纱厂针对纤维棉结和籽屑提出的问题。本文作者对文章内容及提供的建议负全部责任。作者欢迎提出更多有关该主题的问题,他将很高兴予以解答。请将你的问题直接发送给作者 yelmogahzy@gmail.com。

问题1:什么是棉结、带籽屑棉结和白色斑点?它们是如何产生的?

棉结、带籽屑棉结和白色斑点都是在棉花收获期间或在轧花过程中形成的缠绕和打结的纤维。在显微镜下观察棉结,发现形成单个棉结的纤维数量为5到20个打结的纤维。在一个棉包中可以观察到以下类型的棉结:

  • 纯纤维棉结(或机械棉结):这些棉结仅由缠绕在一起的纤维构成。该类型的棉结很常见,它代表了美棉中绝大多数的棉结。它们是在收获期间和在轧棉后的皮棉清理过程中机械地产生的。
  • 生物棉结:这些是严重的棉结,它们可能是一簇未成熟的纤维或与非纤维材料(例如,籽屑、叶子或根茎材料)缠结的纤维。这些也是轧棉前籽棉清理过程中以机械方式产生的或轧棉过程中棉籽损坏造成的。

纯纤维棉结(或机械棉结)通常由长纤维和细纤维组成。通常,长纤维和细纤维更具柔性,并且它们比短纤维和粗纤维更易卷曲和打结。在梳棉过程时,特别是低速下,可以将轻质致密的纯纤维棉结拉直。生物棉结比纯纤维棉结更严重,因为它们更难梳理开,并且在纺纱准备期间容易逐渐变为越来越小的棉结。

问题2:有没有棉结的棉包吗?

所有棉包,无论是人工采摘、机械采摘还是锯齿轧制或皮辊轧制的,都会有纤维棉结。这是因为轧棉和清理棉花所需的设备将不可避免地导致一些纤维缠绕,从而产生棉结。每个棉包的棉结量将因纤维生产方法而异。相较于机械采摘,人工采摘的棉花棉结将更少,统收的棉花将比摘锭式采摘的棉花有更多的棉结,因为需要更多清理,同时,锯齿棉将比皮辊棉的棉结多。所以,棉包中的棉结是不可避免的。最好的情况是,一个棉包中每克将有大约100至200个纯纤维棉结。这在全球棉花中不到8%。一个棉包中可控的平均棉结水平为200至350个棉结/克。高棉结水平为350至500个棉结/克。关于带籽屑棉结,最好的情况是每克最多10个棉结,11-20个为低水平,21-30个是中等水平,31-45个是高水平,> 46个是非常高的水平。

问题3:在纺纱过程中我们如何控制棉结影响?

纺纱过程中有四道工序可以控制棉结含量:

(a)混棉、(b)开清棉、(c)梳棉和(d)精梳。

混棉工序中的棉结

在混棉工序中,控制棉结的关键步骤是购买每克不超过400个棉结的棉包,或每克不超过35个带籽屑棉结的棉包。如果库存中有一些这样的棉包,可以采用较慢的加工速度单独加工,也可以少量分散在许多混棉中。此外,购买高成熟率的棉花也很重要,因为未成熟的棉纤维会产生加工过程中难以(如果并非不可能)去除的生物棉结。通常,马克隆值大于3.8的纤维非常成熟。80%以上的美棉属于该范围。

在采用不同纺纱系统和制备方法的纺纱厂中,高棉结量的棉包应用于生产中等质量的粗梳环锭纱或气流纱。在生产精梳纱线时,棉包中棉结较少,将产生更少的浪费和更低的精梳落棉率。对于喷气纺纱,棉结是一个更严重的问题,谨慎购买棉包至关重要。

开清棉工序中的棉结

开清棉工序中将一直产生更多的棉结。数量可以低至40%,高达90%。但纺纱厂要知道的是,混棉中的棉结越高,开清棉过程中增加的棉结比率就越低。这个主题涉及很多内容,我很乐意单独与纺纱厂进行讨论。这里重点要指出的是,在开清棉过程中,通常高棉结混棉比低棉结混棉的情况更好。建议纺纱厂定期测量斜槽进料中的棉结,以确定开清棉过程中棉结增加的严重程度。

梳棉工序中的棉结

梳棉过程将持续减少棉结。因为在梳棉时可以去除棉结或在梳棉区域中将棉结拉直。梳棉过程中的棉结去除效率使用以下公式来计算:[100×(斜槽进料中的棉结 - 生条中的棉结)/斜槽进料中的棉结]。棉结去除效率越高,生条中的棉结越低。纺纱厂还应知道,斜槽进料中的棉结越高,棉结去除效率越低。建议纺纱厂定期测量斜槽进料和生条中的棉结,以确定棉结去除效率。对所有梳棉采取这些措施也很重要。因为由于梳棉机的布线情况不同,同一生产线中的不同梳棉机的棉结去除效率会有所不同。如果发现梳棉机之间的棉结差异很大,将需要更好地维护梳棉机和进行更优的布线安排。还应注意,梳理速度越高,棉结去除效率越低。也就是说,应根据棉结去除来设置梳棉机速率。

精梳工序中的棉结

精梳过程将持续减少棉结。精梳过程中的棉结去除效率使用以下公式来计算:[100×(生条中的棉结 - 精梳棉条中的棉结)/生条中的棉结]。根据所用的精梳落棉率%,精梳过程的棉结去除效率可超过80%。也就是说,降低生条中的棉结可能意味着较低的精梳落棉率,这对于纺纱厂而言是一大节约。

问题4:我们经常收到投诉称使用我们的纱线制成的面料中有白斑和未染色点。造成这些缺陷的原因是什么?

这些缺陷中约80%是由于在染整过程中未染色的生物棉结或白色斑点造成的。不过,这些缺陷也可能是由于编织过程中飞花的产生而导致的纤维污染物。在找出原因前,纺纱厂必须非常仔细地诊断面料缺陷。我们公司经常会进行这些诊断测试,问题可能是在纺纱过程中或在编织过程中引起的。

问题5:棉结和带籽屑棉结造成的成本是多少?

棉结对纱线成本的影响是双重的:(1)在生产纱线前必须基本去除棉结。(2)残余棉结可能对纱线的外观和价值不利。去除棉结会大幅增加纱线生产成本,因为可能需要更频繁地对梳棉机进行布线,或者在精梳过程中会导致更高的精梳落棉率。以一家每年使用10万包棉包生产精梳环锭纱的纺纱厂为例,精梳落棉率减少1%至2%意味着每年可以节省约100万美元。粗梳纱中的残余棉结可低至30个/克,精梳纱中的残余棉结可低至8或10个/克。这些数值可以转化为每1000米粗梳纱最多3000个棉结,每1000米精梳纱最多400个棉结(更细的纱线每1000米具有更多棉结)。存在于纱线中的大尺寸(>2,000μm)棉结会影响纱线外观,并且它们会以未染色黑点(白色斑点)的形式出现在成品面料中,特别是如果它们是死纤维或未成熟纤维的话。

Skip to content

Our site uses cookies and other technologies so that we, and our partners, can remember you, understand how you use our site, and serve you communications in line with your interests. To learn more about the use of cookies on this site and the extent to which you can opt-out of cookies click here. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
You may provide personal information, such as your email address, to us via this website. For more information about how we collect, use, and share such information click here. By providing personal information to us, you agree to our use of that information in accordance with our Privacy Policy.

Learn About The Effect of Fiber Neps

Fiber neps have always presented a challenge to mills and manufacturers. In this article, expert Dr. Yehia Elmoghazy answers frequently asked questions about the effect of neps on the manufacturing process. What are the causes? Can they be controlled? What is the cost of neps to my business?  Discover these answers and more.

Disclaimer:  This article responds to questions addressed by a number of spinners in Vietnam and Bangladesh regarding cotton fiber neps and seedcoat fragments. The author of this article is solely responsible for the content and the recommendations made. The author welcomes any additional questions on the subject and he will be happy to answer them. Please direct your questions to the author at yelmogahzy@gmail.com.   

Question 1: What are neps, seedcoat neps, and white specks? And what causes them? 

Neps, seedcoat neps, and white specks are all entangled and knotted fibers that are formed during cotton harvesting or in the ginning process.   Microscopic observations of neps indicate that the number of fibers forming a single nep may range from 5 to 20 fibers knotted together. The following types of neps may be observed in a bale of cotton:

  • Pure fiber neps (or mechanical neps): these are neps consisting only of fibers entangled together. This type of nep is very common, and it represents the majority of neps in U.S. cotton. They are mechanically created during harvesting and in the lint-cleaning process after ginning. 
  • Biological neps: these are serious neps and they may consist of a cluster of immature fibers or fibers entangled with non-fiber materials such as seed coat fragments, leaves, or stem material. These are also caused by mechanical means during seed-cotton cleaning before ginning or due to seed damage during ginning. 

Pure fiber neps (or mechanical neps) typically consist of long and fine fibers. Normally, long and fine fibers are more flexible, and they have more tendency to curl and entangle together than short and coarse fibers. Light dense pure fiber neps may be straightened during carding particularly at low carding speeds. Biological neps are more serious than pure fiber neps because they are more difficult to disentangle, and they tend to be progressively fragmented into smaller and smaller neps during spinning preparation. 

Question 2: Are there cotton bales free of neps? 

All cotton bales, manually harvested, mechanically harvested, saw-ginned, or roller-ginned will have fiber neps. This is because the equipment required to gin, and clean cotton will inevitably result in some fiber entanglement causing neps to occur. The amount of neps per bale will vary depending on the methods of fiber production. Manually-harvested cotton will have fewer neps than mechanically-harvested cotton, stripper-harvested cotton will have slightly higher neps than spindle-harvested cotton due to the need for more cleaning and saw-gin cotton will have higher neps than roller-gin cotton. Thus, the existence of neps in a cotton bale is inevitable. In a best-case scenario, a cotton bale will have about 100 to 200 pure fiber neps per gram. This represents less than 8% of the cotton worldwide. A manageable average nep level in a bale is from 200 to 350 neps/g. A high nep level is from 350 to 500 neps/g. With regard to seed-coat neps, up to 10 neps per gram is considered a best-case scenario, 11-20 is low, 21-30 is medium, 31-45 is high, and > 46 is very high. 

Question 3: How can we control the effects of neps during spinning?

There are four stages of processing during spinning in which nep content can be controlled:  (a) Cotton mixing, (b) Opening and cleaning, (c) Carding, and (d) Combing. 

Neps In the Cotton Mix

The key step to control neps in the cotton mix is to purchase cotton bales that do not exceed 400 neps per gram, or 35 seedcoat neps per gram. In case some of these bales are available in the inventory, they can either be processed separately using slower rates of processing, or they can be dispersed in small amounts over many cotton mixes. It is also important to purchase cotton of high maturity ratio since immature cotton fibers can result in biological neps that are difficult, if not impossible, to remove during processing. Normally, fibers of micronaire value above 3.8 are very mature. More than 80% of U.S. cotton fall in this range. 

In spinning mills with different spinning systems and different preparation methods, bales of high neps should be used for medium-quality carded ring-spun yarns or open-end spun yarns. When fine-combed yarns are produced, lower neps in the cotton bales will result in lower waste and lower comber noil. For air-jet spinning, neps represent a more serious matter and careful purchasing of cotton bales is critical.      Neps in Opening and Cleaning

The opening and cleaning process will always add neps to cotton fibers. This can be as low as 40% and as high as 90%. But what spinners need to know is that the higher the neps in the cotton mix, the lower the percent added neps during opening and cleaning. This is a long subject that I will be glad to discuss with individual spinning mills. The point here is that the opening and cleaning process is normally kinder with cotton mixes of high neps than with cotton mixes of low neps. It is advisable that spinners periodically measure neps in the chute feed material to determine the severity of adding neps during opening and cleaning. 

Neps in the Carding Process

The carding process will always reduce neps. This is because neps may either be removed during carding or straightened in the carding zone. Nep removal efficiency in carding is determined using the following formula [100 × (neps in the chute-feed – Neps in the carded sliver)/neps in the chute feed]. The higher the nep-removal efficiency the lower the neps in the carded sliver. What spinners should also know is that the higher the neps in the chute feed material, the lower the nep removal efficiency. It is advisable that spinners periodically measure neps in the chute feed material and in the card slivers to determine nep removal efficiency. It is also important that these measures are made for all cards. This is because different cards in the same line may have different nep removal efficiency because of the different wiring conditions of card machines. When high variation of neps between cards is observed, better card maintenance and wiring schedule will be required. It should also be noted that the higher the carding speed the lower the nep removal efficiency. This means that carding machine rates should be set in view of nep removal. 

Neps in the Combing Process   The combing process will always remove neps. Nep removal efficiency in combing is determined using the following formula [100 × (neps in the card sliver – Neps in the combed sliver)/neps in the carded sliver]. The combing process could have nep removal efficiency exceeding 80% depending on the comber noil % used. This means that lower the neps in the card sliver could mean lower comber noil, which can be a major saving to spinners. 

Question 4: We receive frequent complaints of white specks and undyed spots in fabrics made from our yarns. What are the causes of these defects?

About 80% of these defects are due to biological neps or white specks that were not dyed in the dyeing and finishing process. However, these defects may also be due to the presence of fiber contaminants during the knitting process as a result of fly generation during knitting. It is important for spinners to diagnose the fabric defect very carefully before making a conclusion about the cause. We perform these diagnostic tests in my company on routine basis, and the problem can either be caused in the spinning process or during knitting. 

Question 5: What is the cost of neps and seedcoat neps?

The effect of neps on yarn cost is twofold: (1) neps must be largely removed before yarns can be produced, (2) residual neps can be detrimental to the appearance and the value of yarn. The removal of neps represents a significant added-cost of yarn manufacturing since they may require more frequent wiring of carding machines, or higher comber noils during combing. In a mill using 100,000 bales annually for combed ring-spun yarn, a 1% to 2% less comber noil could mean a saving of about $1 million per year. The residual neps can be as low as 30 neps per gram in carded yarns and as low as 8 or 10 neps per gram in combed yarns. These values can be translated to up to 3,000 neps/1,000 meter in carded yarns, and up to 400 neps per 1,000 meters of combed yarns (with finer yarns having more neps/1,000 m). Neps of large sizes (> 2,000 µm) that manage to survive into the yarn can result in poor yarn appearance and they can appear in the finished fabrics in the form of undyed dark dots (white specks) particularly if they constitute dead or immature fibers.