跳到内容

我们的网站使用 Cookie 和其他技术,以便我们及我们的合作伙伴记住您,了解您如何使用我们的网站,并根据您的兴趣与您通信。要了解更多关于在本网站上使用 Cookie 及您可选择停用 Cookie 的程度,请点击此处。  通过继续使用本网站,您同意使用 Cookie 及我们的隐私政策
您可以通过本网站向我们提供个人信息,例如您的电子邮件地址。  有关我们如何收集、使用和分享此类信息的更多详情,请点击此处。  通过向我们提供个人信息,您同意我们根据我们的隐私政策使用该信息。

微塑料与环境

纺织纤维会存在多长时间?

Media reports of plastics in the seas and oceans are increasing. Wildlife groups are sounding the alarm about large amounts of plastics that find their way to the ocean. A casual internet search reveals gripping images of hapless fish entrapped in discarded bags and whales and other marine mammals succumbed from ingesting plastics.  

媒体对海洋中塑料的报道越来越多。野生动物组织也在发出警报,大量塑料进入海洋中。网上随便一搜就可以看到倒霉的鱼被丢弃的塑料袋套住,鲸鱼和其它海洋哺乳动物因吞食塑料而死亡。

根据Geyer等人i的数据,从1950年到2015年,在合计生产的聚合物树脂、合成纤维和添加剂中,约有60%(近50亿吨)的塑料被丢弃。其中,6亿吨是纤维。这些塑料的最终归宿是垃圾填埋场;而其中一些泄漏到自然环境中,造成更大的危害。

Eriksen 等人ii估计有重达27万吨5.25万亿个塑料颗粒漂浮在全球海洋中。微纤维一般指长度为5毫米或更短的纤维。近年来,随着微塑料穿透食物网,散布到地球上各个角落,对生态系统和健康造成影响,人们开始越来越多地关注这一最被忽视的塑料问题。此外,塑料颗粒还可能吸引和吸收其它有害污染物,最终进入鱼的体内,导致有毒化合物的生物累积。

PLOS Oneiii的最新报告称,81%的自来水样本、12个美国啤酒品牌的样本以及100%的海盐样本都受到微塑料的污染。微塑料的来源是一个关键问题。每年生产的约8500万公吨聚酯纤维可能是一大来源,其中大部分是服装和家居用品。
织物在洗涤时,产生微纤维,然后排放到污水处理系统中。污水进入城市污水处理厂,部分纤维被过滤,沉淀到污泥中。其它的直接进入排水沟。污泥通常干燥后用作农业肥料,其中大量最初去除的纤维最终得以进入大海。

棉质服装在洗涤时可被认为是纤维素微纤维的来源之一。众所周知,棉花和其它天然纤维,如羊毛,在进入环境中后会自然降解。那么降解的程度和速度如何呢?与微塑料相比呢?北卡罗莱纳州自然资源学院的研究人员着手深入了解棉、聚酯、人造丝和聚/棉的小颗粒会发生什么。在加速洗衣试验和环境退化研究中,研究人员发现,虽然棉纤维产生了微纤维,但与微塑料不同,棉纤维在海水、湖水和城市污水处理厂中可以迅速降解。该研究得出的结论是,与聚合物纤维相比,棉纤维是最环保的纤维。

纺织品制造商是造成微纤维问题的主要来源之一,应做出环保决策,尽量减少对环境的影响。对此COTTON USATM 可以提供帮助。棉花是一种强韧的天然纤维,有各种前所未有的创新用途,如棉绒布。而美棉采用最高的可持续标准种植,生物降解速度快。在整个生命周期过程中,棉花都是环境和企业最佳的选择。


本文是根据Jesse Daystar于2018年11月在科罗拉多州丹佛的户外用品冬季展(OutdoorRetailers Winter Market)上发表的一篇演讲撰写的。其中报告的数据曾被Daystar引用过。Daystar是Cotton Incorporated(美国棉花公司)的企业可持续发展官。

引用
Geyer, R.; Jambeck, J. R.; Law, K. L. 各种塑料的生产、使用和命运。Sci.Adv.2017, 3 (7), 5.

Eriksen, M.等。世界海洋中的塑料污染:5万多亿个塑料物在海上漂浮,重量超过25万吨。PLoSOne 9, 1–15 (2014)、。

kosuth, M., Mason, S., & Wattenberg, E. (2018).自来水、啤酒和海盐的人为污染。PLOS One。

Skip to content

Our site uses cookies and other technologies so that we, and our partners, can remember you, understand how you use our site, and serve you communications in line with your interests. To learn more about the use of cookies on this site and the extent to which you can opt-out of cookies click here. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
You may provide personal information, such as your email address, to us via this website. For more information about how we collect, use, and share such information click here. By providing personal information to us, you agree to our use of that information in accordance with our Privacy Policy.

Microplastics and the Environment

How Long Do Textile Fibers Last?

Media reports of plastics in the seas and oceans are increasing. Wildlife groups are sounding the alarm about large amounts of plastics that find their way to the ocean. A casual internet search reveals gripping images of hapless fish entrapped in discarded bags and whales and other marine mammals succumbed from ingesting plastics.  

According to Geyer, et al. , of the total production of polymer resins, synthetic fibers and additives from 1950 to 2015 about 60% (nearly 5 billion tons) of plastics ever produced were discarded. Of these, 600 million tons are fibers. These plastics are destined for landfills; however, some leak into the natural environment where they can cause increased levels of harm.  

Eriksen, et al,   estimated that more than 5.25 trillion plastic particles weighting 270,000 tons are floating in the world’s oceans. Microfibers are typically defined as being 5 millimeters or less in length. Recently, there has been an increased focus on this mostly invisible side of the plastic problem as these microplastics may cause ecosystem and health impacts by penetrating the food web and being disseminated in all corners of the planet. Additionally, the plastic particles have the potential to attract and absorb other harmful pollutants that can ultimately wind up in fish, causing bioaccumulation of toxic compounds.

Recent reports from PLOS One  claim that 81% of the tap water sampled, 100% of 12 sampled U.S. beer brands and 100% of sea salt samples tested were contaminated with microplastics. Where microplastics come from is a key question. A large source is likely from the estimated 85 million metric tons of annual polyester fiber production, much of which is in apparel and home furnishings.  

As fabrics are laundered, microfibers are created and emitted into waste water treatment systems. The waste water goes to municipal treatment plants where some fibers are filtered and captured in sludge. The remainder go directly into the waterways. The sludge typically is dried and applied to agricultural land where many of the fibers that were initially removed can eventually find a path to the sea. 

Cotton apparel can be considered a source of cellulose microfibers when laundered. Common wisdom says that cotton and other natural fibers, like wool, will degrade naturally when released into the environment. How much and how rapidly does this occur? How does this compare with microplastic fibers? Researchers at North Carolina State College of Natural Resources set out to better understand what happens to small particles of cotton, polyester, rayon and poly/cotton. In accelerated laundry trials and environmental degradation studies, researchers found that while cotton fibers generated microfibers, unlike microplastics, cotton fibrils degrade rapidly in sea water, lake water and municipal treatment plants. The conclusion of the study is that cotton fibers are the most environmentally friendly when compared with polymer-based fibers. 

As a major contributor to the microfiber problem, textile manufacturers need to make environmentally conscious decisions to minimize their impact. COTTON USATM can help. Cotton is a strong and natural fiber with more innovative uses than ever, such as cotton fleece. U.S. cotton is grown with the highest sustainability standards and biodegrades quickly. From the start of the life cycle to the finish, cotton is the better choice for the environment and your business.  


This paper was developed from a presentation by Jesse Daystar delivered in November 2018 at the Outdoor Retailers Winter Market in Denver, CO. The data reported here were previously cited by Daystar. Daystar is the Corporate Sustainability Officer for Cotton Incorporated.

Citations 

     i. Geyer, R.; Jambeck, J. R.; Law, K. L. Production, Uses, and Fate of All Plastics Ever Made. Sci. Adv. 2017, 3 (7), 5.

    ii. Eriksen, M. et al. Plastic Pollution in the World’s Oceans: More than 5 Trillion Plastic Pieces Weighing over 250,000 Tons Afloat at Sea. PLoS One 9, 1–15 (2014).

   iii. Kosuth, M., Mason, S., & Wattenberg, E. (2018). Anthropogenic contamination of tap water, beer, and sea salt. PLOS One.