跳到內容

我們的網站使用 Cookie 和其他技術,以便我們和合作夥伴能夠記住您、了解您如何使用我們的網站,並根據您的興趣為您提供通信。若要進一步瞭解本網站上使用的 Cookie,以及您可以選擇停用 Cookie 的程度,請按這裡。  若繼續使用本網站,則代表您同意使用 Cookie 和遵守我們的隱私保護政策
您可以透過本網站向我們提供您的電子郵件地址等個人資訊。  若要進一步瞭解我們如何蒐集、使用並分享這類資訊,請按這裡。  若向我們提供個人資訊,則代表您同意我們遵循我們的隱私保護政策使用該資訊。

棉花歷久彌新的卓越性能締造優質布料的堅實口碑

數百年來,唯有一種材料維持無與倫比的優越性能

還記得在 10 年前的設計課堂上,教授告訴我們「別拿棉花來製作運動服飾」。這項訊息所指:棉花並非機能型的原料。但是在畢業後的數十年間,我曾任職各大品牌的設計師、開發人員和顧問,卻發現事實剛好相反:棉花是一種性能卓越的天然材質,不僅易於混紡其他原料生產卓越布料和具功能性優勢,長久以來在永續發展方面也制定高標準。紡織產業歷史的千絲萬縷或許難以釐清,但是藉由探討特定纖維、布料和成品的進化歷程,就能瞭解棉花一直擁有極為優越的永續性。

首先讓我們回溯到 1500 年代,在海運貿易發達的當時,棉花憑藉出色的防水性而倍受青睞;英國和蘇格蘭水手發現,只要在棉質帆布上塗抹魚油和潤滑脂,可使船帆在濕潤時迎風效率較佳,乾燥時則更輕盈,優於未加工的船帆。經過一系列設計和開發的沿革發展,這類材質演變成現今廣為人知的上蠟的棉質布,也就是浸漬了蠟或天然蜜蠟的棉布;除了船帆以外,水手也會使用這種加工過的布料製作斗篷,英國皇家海軍甚至使用上蠟棉布製成的船帆,特地航行到埃及取得更多棉花。

1700-1800 年代的船運產業主導了棉花發展在商業用途,接下來則是 Barbour 登場的時刻。在 1930 年代早期,他們的設計團隊採用上蠟棉布做為機車風衣的布料,並成為英國國家代表隊從 1936 年到 1977 年的指定隊服品牌,更因為美國影星 Steve McQueen 的代言而聲名大噪;另外,二戰期間的英軍也穿著上蠟棉布製成的制服。此後,這款布料基於出色的保暖效果,逐漸廣泛應用於各種服飾產品。

接續棉花卓越發展:抵禦嚴苛的天候條件Grenfell (1923)、Byrd (1934) 以及 Ventile (1943) 這幾種布料的開發宗旨,就是在各種天候下都能常保舒適。Grenfell 布料名稱來自於一位英國的醫療傳教士,紡織密度達每平方英吋 600 針,強度足以抵禦 Grenfell 的工作地點 - 紐芬蘭島的極端氣候。如同 Grenfell 布料,Byrd 布料也是為了抵禦嚴苛條件而設計。Richard Byrd 是一名南極探險家,需要防風透氣的衣物,確保汗水可從身體排出蒸發,而不會在皮膚上凍結。Byrd 布料類似於上蠟棉布,成為廣受歡迎的軍裝用料,具有較佳的乾爽、透氣且防蚊效果,而且比斜紋布更輕盈。時至今日,Byrd 仍是廣泛使用的冬衣材料。

最後讓我們談談 Ventile,一種具有獨特捻絲結構的防寒布料。Ventile 是採用超長纖 (ESL) 製成的棉織品。ESL 僅取材自全球大約 2% 的棉花,用於製作強度較高的紗線,可緊密織成高密度的純棉布料,有效抵禦惡劣天候。這種布料的天然特性可造就出色的垂綴和透氣效果,而且使用起來耐久舒適。Ventile 布料是英格蘭 Shirley Institute in Manchester 率先開發的產品, 目前僅在瑞士的 Stotz & Co AG 進行量產,於該廠完成紡紗、織布和染整等原料加工程序,並透過旗下棉料品牌 etaProof 銷售給全球的成衣廠和紡織品經銷商。

最後,棉花還有一項傲人的亮眼成就,那就是兼具機能和永續雙重效益的創新成果:Foxfibre;這款布料是 Sally Fox 在 1980 年成功開發的產品,也是紡織產業史上最令人嚮往的一段佳話。Foxfibre 是第一款可用於商業紡織和染色的棉料,在當年創下了劃時代的里程碑。Sally Fox 開發出多種長纖維染色棉花,可減輕這類纖維在手工紡紗衍生的漂染損害、水資源浪費和人力成本;她在天然染色棉花領域的卓越專業,為市場帶來了美觀、輕柔和環保的布料解決方案,許多知名服飾品牌都是愛用客戶,包括 Levi's、Land's End 和 L.L.Bean,這些公司優先採用天然生成原料,一直走在永續發展的前沿。

讀者可能覺得好奇,我們為何回顧這段歷史?重點在於,無論行銷話術如何改變消費者選擇布料的觀念,棉花仍將提供廣泛的用途和卓越的表現。歷史告訴我們,早在運動服普及之前,棉花就已滿足工作服的使用需求。在「機能」的訴求興起之前,人們就已開始注重實用性和舒適度的表現。乾爽、排汗透氣和輕柔,就是舒適的同義詞。由於合成纖維的普及,導致棉花的天然性長期遭到低估,但隨著消費者的觀念逐漸進步,棉花在市場上又有捲土重來之勢。

如今人們也瞭解到,在合成纖維衣物充斥市面的同時,也為環境帶來了數以噸計的微塑膠汙染物。消費者希望自己的衣物兼具環保和性能的雙重效益,而且他們對此不願妥協。歸功於纖維、染整和布料領域的技術革新,棉花不但提供上述所有優點,可維持溫濕度、促進肌肉復元、吸濕排汗,並且持久耐用、強化彈性和恢復能力,以及防止異味和抗菌等效益,這也是許多關注棉花創新 R&D公司致力追求的目標。在實現這些優點的同時,也妥善考量產品的完整生命週期,進而造就永續發展的棉花創新成果。

Cotton Council International 等組織甚至制定了新的標準,用以量化評估產品對環境的影響,明確進行永續發展的創新技術。從生物可分解的布料和微纖維1、精密農業到低碳排放,棉花創新業者持續體現了「從搖籃到搖籃」(Cradle to Cradle,簡稱 C2C) 的永續精神。

如果您正在思考品牌未來的發展方向或下個系列的時裝設計,不妨深入回顧棉花豐富精彩的進化歷程。若想獲得更多啟發,建議您進一步探索 WHAT’S NEW IN COTTONTM 等合作計畫,瞭解面料、混紡和紗線等創新領域中採用的時尚科技2。在永續意識抬頭的今天,我們必須回歸符合自然的實務做法,而棉花就是紡織產業未來發展的最佳選擇。

引用文獻

來源1:http://oceancleanwash.org/

來源2:https://cottonusa.org/expert-o...

Skip to content

Our site uses cookies and other technologies so that we, and our partners, can remember you, understand how you use our site, and serve you communications in line with your interests. To learn more about the use of cookies on this site and the extent to which you can opt-out of cookies click here. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
You may provide personal information, such as your email address, to us via this website. For more information about how we collect, use, and share such information click here. By providing personal information to us, you agree to our use of that information in accordance with our Privacy Policy.

The Fabric Hero We Need: Cotton’s Performance Superpowers Through the Ages

For hundreds of years, one material has outperformed all the others.

As a design student over a decade ago, I remember professors telling us, “Don’t spec cotton for athletic wear.” The message was loud and clear: it wasn’t a performance fabric. In the decades since, working with brands as a designer, developer, and consultant, I’ve found quite the opposite to be true: cotton was and still is the original performance material. Not only is it notable for its adaptability and performance benefits, it has historically held a high standard for sustainability, too. It can be tricky to untangle the threads of textile history, but by exploring the evolution of specific fibers, fabrics, and finishes, it becomes clear that cotton’s been our sustainability hero all along.

We’ll start by going way back to the 1500s, when cotton’s waterproof superpower hit the stage, or should we say sea. This is when British and Scottish mariners discovered that by applying fish oils and grease to their cotton sailcloth the sails became more efficient when wet and lighter when dry, out-performing sails that were untreated. So began a series of designs and developments resulting in what we now know as waxed cotton — cotton impregnated with a paraffin or natural beeswax. Eventually, mariners made capes out of the treated sailcloth. The Royal Navy even used waxed cotton on the sails of ships set for Egypt to obtain more cotton.

The shipping industry dominated the commercial application of cotton throughout the 17-1800s, and then Barbour entered the scene. In the early 1930s, they chose waxed cotton for their team’s motorcycle suits, which were worn by the British International team in competition from 1936 to 1977 and famously donned by American actor Steve McQueen. The British Armed Forces also wore uniforms made from waxed cotton in World War II. The fabric has evolved from there to include broader use in apparel that benefit from its protective warmth.

Next cotton superpower: protection from the elements. Grenfell Cloth (1923), Byrd Cloth (1934), and Ventile (1943) are just a few fabrics developed for comfort in all conditions. Grenfell Cloth, named after a British medical missionary, is made from 600 thread-per-inch cotton and strong enough to withstand the extreme climate of Newfoundland where Grenfell was working. Like Grenfell Cloth, Byrd Cloth was designed to protect in harsh conditions. Richard Byrd was an Antarctic explorer and needed clothing that was windproof, yet breathable, so sweat could evaporate from his body rather than freeze on his skin. Similar to waxed cotton, Byrd Cloth became a go-to for army uniforms, as it stayed drier, promoted breathability, repelled mosquitos, and was lighter than twill. It continues to be used in cold-weather clothing today.

Lastly, we’ll talk about Ventile, a weatherproof textile with a unique twist. Ventile is a cotton textile woven from an extra-long staple fiber (ELS). Only available from around 2% of the world's entire cotton crop, ELS fibers create yarns with enhanced strength that can be tightly woven into a high-density textile to create a 100% cotton fabric that effectively protects from inclement weather. It naturally delivers all-day comfort due to its drape and breathability, while being durable and quiet in use. First developed by scientists at the Shirley Institute in Manchester, England, Ventile is now only manufactured by the Stotz & Co AG in Switzerland, which spins, twists, weaves and dyes the raw materials, selling the textile directly under its own branding of etaProof cotton to clothing manufacturers and wholesale textile distributors globally.

For cotton’s last superpower spotlight, we have an innovation that combines both performance and sustainability, Foxfibre. One of my favorite stories in textile history, Foxfibre was developed in 1980 by Sally Fox. Revolutionary for its time, it was the first commercially spinnable, colored cotton. By creating a long staple variety of colored cotton, Sally Fox mitigated the harmful bleaching, water waste, and labor costs previously associated with hand spinning this fiber. Her singular expertise in naturally colored cotton brought beautiful, soft, environmentally friendly solutions to market. Some of her big-name customers were Levi's, Land's End and L.L. Bean—companies still leading the sustainability charge today by prioritizing organic and biodynamic sources.

You may still be wondering, why this walk down memory lane? The idea here is to demonstrate that while language and marketing can change how consumers understand fabric choice, cotton was and still is versatile and performative. History shows us that before there was athletic wear, there was workwear. Before we called it performance, we called it utility and solved for comfort. If it kept you dry, it was comfort. If it wicked and breathed, it was comfort. If it was soft, it was comfort. Cotton’s natural powers were minimized over time thanks to the popularity of synthetics, but today it’s charging back in part because consumers know what’s at stake.

Today, we are all reckoning with the fact that the synthetics that have become so commonplace in our wardrobes are actually creating tons of micro-plastics pollution. Consumers now want their clothes to save the planet and deliver performance. And they are not willing to compromise. Thanks to new advancements in fibers, fabric, and finishes, cotton can deliver everything we discussed above - plus benefits like micro-climate creation, muscle recovery, moisture management, durability, enhanced stretch and recovery, and anti-odor/ antimicrobial benefits, which are currently being explored by companies focused on cotton/ material R&D. All of this is happening while respectfully considering the full product lifecycle - ultimately creating sustainable cotton innovations.

Organizations like Cotton Council International have even developed new metrics to quantify impact, making it clear which innovations are most sustainable. From biodegradable fabric and microfibers1 to precision agriculture and carbon-neutral farming practice, cotton innovators are continually demonstrating what cradle-to-cradle responsibility can look like.

As you think about the future of your brand or your next collection, consider exploring more of cotton’s rich history. For even more inspiration, take a look at initiatives like WHAT’S NEW IN COTTONTM, which showcases fashion technologies2 in finishes, blends, and yarn innovation. It’s imperative that we get back to a more natural way of doing things, and we have to look no further than cotton for our roadmap forward.

Citations

Source1: http://oceancleanwash.org/

Source2 : https://cottonusa.org/expert-o...