跳到內容

我們的網站使用 Cookie 和其他技術,以便我們和合作夥伴能夠記住您、了解您如何使用我們的網站,並根據您的興趣為您提供通信。若要進一步瞭解本網站上使用的 Cookie,以及您可以選擇停用 Cookie 的程度,請按這裡。  若繼續使用本網站,則代表您同意使用 Cookie 和遵守我們的隱私保護政策
您可以透過本網站向我們提供您的電子郵件地址等個人資訊。  若要進一步瞭解我們如何蒐集、使用並分享這類資訊,請按這裡。  若向我們提供個人資訊,則代表您同意我們遵循我們的隱私保護政策使用該資訊。

是什麼決定纖維的需求?

一切從消費者開始

紡織品供應鏈中的纖維選擇,最終取決於消費者對產品的偏好。品牌與零售商在店內陳列的服裝或居家用品,如果無法引起消費者的購買意願,商品終究賣不出去。有效的產品需求,才能帶動供應鏈、紡織成衣廠,乃至纖維供應商,無論是天然纖維供應商例如棉花,或是供應聚酯等合成纖維。

影響著紡織纖維需求的變數,可區分為長期經濟 (包括新技術)、人口趨勢,以及消費者偏好的變化。

人口與個人平均收入增加時是長期推動服務和產品 (如紡織品) 需求的主要因素。雖然全球人口成長率趨緩,但實際數目仍在增加,預計未來十年將增加大約 7 億人。加上國內生產總值 的預測年均成長率為 2.4%,未來十年的年度纖維需求預計可增加 2800 萬噸 (2017 年全球纖維供需報告,PCI Wood Mackenzie)。

時尚趨勢 

在這些預測增加的需求,棉花所佔的比例主要取決於消費者對纖維的偏好,而這又回歸到設計、功能、舒適度、保養、永續性及相對價格等變數。這些需求的激增、復甦等,都反映出時尚趨勢在棉花或合成纖維之間消費量的改變。

雖然棉花數十年來的市占率不如合成纖維 (主要為聚酯纖維和人造絲),但仍長年受到全球消費者喜愛。美國國際棉花協會 (CCI) 和美國棉花公司 (Cotton Incorporated) 二十多年來定期進行「全球生活型態調查」,結果顯示消費者對棉花的偏好十分穩定,因為相較於其他纖維商品,棉花具有「更舒適」及「最柔軟」等優勢。與合成纖維衣物相比,全球消費者也認為棉花「最可靠」、「最值得信賴」且「持久耐用」。基於消費者的高度偏好,再加上設計、功能和產品保養等條件滿足消費者需求,棉花就能擁有優異的競爭力。

棉花的永續發展深得人心

在漸受重視的「永續發展」及「環境友善」層面,全球消費者長久以對棉花讚譽有加,持續評比為最符合永續理念的纖維。最新調查顯示,90% 的受訪者認為棉花對環境很安全,而認同聚酯纖維的只有 45%。近年的環境監測結果指出,淡水與海洋環境的合成「微纖維」不斷增加,污染海產及水源,因此消費者更重視購買不同纖維衣物是否符合永續發展。最新「全球生活型態調查」資料顯示,重視纖維的消費者,全球有 84% 認為微纖維污染是紡織品對環境最大的威脅。大部分的微纖維污染來自合成纖維衣物的加工和清洗。棉花和其他天然纖維在水環境中分解較快,聚酯纖維卻需要 125 年以上,在陸地上甚至更久。隨著品牌和消費者逐漸關注微纖維污染和舊衣處理問題,研究證據也充分顯示棉花較為環保。

產品價格仍是首要考量

雖然設計、顏色、性能、保養難易度和永續性都攸關消費者服裝購買的決策,但產品價格始終是首要考量之一;儘管棉花產品普遍具有競爭力,但通常並非最便宜。棉花是天然纖維,供應會受到全球各種因素影響,包括生長時天候條件、競爭作物的相對經濟效益等。反之,聚酯纖維 (大規模石化加工的副產品) 價格往往不會大幅波動。過去 25 年來,中國聚酯纖維的產能大幅提升,目前佔據全球產量 70% 以上。以目前的需求量來看,中國估計有 40% 聚酯纖維的生產量是生產過剩,導致價格低於生產成本。市場多以低價的人造聚酯纖維,特別影響棉花和羊毛等天然纖維的競爭性。

維持棉花競爭力 
人口數和整體經濟成長是消費者需求的基礎。然而,如同全球市場上其他競爭產品,最終的購買決定權在消費者手中。雖然聚酯纖維生產過剩,使棉製的服裝和居家用品面臨一些挑戰,但對於消費者而言,在舒適性、可靠性和可信賴度等其他購買決策因素上,棉花仍保有良好的競爭力。在永續發展方面,全球微纖維污染的全面影響日趨惡化,消費者對棉花的評價是最符合環保的纖維,一定會增加。有鑑於聚酯和其他合成纖維的生產、保養難易度、產品最終處置等實際成本,無論是消費者、產品設計者或採購決策者,應該都會考慮這些因素去選擇棉製品調整合理的零售價格。

更多有關「全球生活型態調查」、纖維經濟、纖維永續性的詳細資訊,請聯絡當地 COTTON USA 代表 (https://cottonusa.org/staff)。

Skip to content

Our site uses cookies and other technologies so that we, and our partners, can remember you, understand how you use our site, and serve you communications in line with your interests. To learn more about the use of cookies on this site and the extent to which you can opt-out of cookies click here. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
You may provide personal information, such as your email address, to us via this website. For more information about how we collect, use, and share such information click here. By providing personal information to us, you agree to our use of that information in accordance with our Privacy Policy.

What Determines Current and Future Fiber Demand?

IT STARTS WITH CONSUMERS

Fiber choice through the textile supply chain ultimately comes down to product choice at the consumer level. Brands and retailers can advertise and place apparel and home furnishings products at retail, but if the consumer is not willing to choose those products in their budget, then those products will not move.  Effective product demand (or lack thereof) will affect the supply chain back to the textile manufacturers, and ultimately to fiber suppliers -- be they of natural fibers such as cotton, or of synthetic fiber such as polyester. 

Variables affecting textile fiber demand can be broken into long-term economic (including technology) and demographic trends, and changes in consumer preferences.  

Population and per capita income growth are the principal underlying long-term drivers of demand for services and products of all types, including textiles.  Although the rate of global population growth has slowed, absolute numbers are still growing and a net of around 700 million people are expected to be added to the planet during the next decade. Coupled with a forecast average annual per capita GDP growth of 2.4 percent, this gives an implied total annual fiber demand increase during the next decade of some 28 million metric tons from current levels (World Supply and Demand Report 2017, PCI Wood MacKenzie).

THE FASHION PENDULUM 

How much of that projected increase will be cotton versus alternative fibers will in large part depend on consumer fiber preference, which in turn arises out of variables such as design, functionality, comfort, care, perceived sustainability, and relative prices. These shifts in demand, both in surges and recoveries, manifest into the fashion pendulum that swings between cotton and synthetics. 

Although cotton has lost market share to synthetics (principally polyester staple and filament) during the past decades, cotton remains a perennial favorite among global consumers.  This Global Lifestyle Monitor research, carried out regularly by Cotton Council International and Cotton Incorporated for more than two decades, documents that consumer preferences remain very loyal to cotton because of its perceived advantages as “more comfortable” and “softest” compared with products made of other fibers.  Consumers across the globe also see cotton as “most reliable” and “most trustworthy”, as well as “longer lasting” compared with garments made of synthetics. In view of those strong consumer preferences, cotton will compete well if other criteria such as design, functionality and product care requirements meet consumers’ needs.

SUSTAINABILITY PREFERENCE FAVORS COTTON

On the increasingly important factor of “sustainability” and “environmentally friendly”, cotton has long measured up well in consumer perception across all countries, consistently logging the highest sustainability ratings globally among all fibers. In the most recent survey, 90 percent of respondents rated cotton as safe for the environment, as compared with just 45 percent for polyester. The post-purchase sustainability performance of garments with differing fiber content has taken on heightened importance in recent years as environmental monitors have pointed out an escalating presence of synthetic “microfibers” in both fresh and sea aquatic environments, contaminating seafood and water supplies. The most recent Global Lifestyle Monitor data indicate that, of fiber aware consumers worldwide, 84 percent now believe that microfiber pollution is the greatest environmental threat from textiles. Much of the microfiber pollution comes from processing and laundering of synthetic garments. Cotton and other natural fibers break down rapidly in aquatic environments whereas polyester can take more than 125 years, and even longer in terrestrial environments. As brand and consumer awareness of microfiber pollution and garment disposal challenges grow, the evidence strongly favors cotton.

PRODUCT PRICE IS STILL A TOP CONSIDERATION

Although design, color, performance, care requirements and sustainability are all important factors influencing a consumer’s apparel purchase decision, product price is invariably among the top considerations. While cotton products have generally been competitive, they often are not the cheapest. As a quality, natural fiber, cotton availability worldwide is subject to weather conditions during the growing season, and to the relative economic returns of competing crops. Polyester (a large-scale industrial manufactured byproduct of petroleum processing) prices, in contrast, tend not to fluctuate as much. This has been particularly true the past quarter century during which China has expanded its polyester textile fiber capacity to now dominate at more than 70 percent of global production. At current demand levels, an estimated 40 percent of China’s polyester infrastructure is considered overcapacity, forcing prices often below the costs of production and causing unfair competition with other fibers, particularly natural fibers such as cotton and wool.

KEEPING COTTON COMPETITIVE  Population demographics and general economic growth will the foundation for consumer demand.  However, as with other competing products in the global marketplace, the consumer will ultimately decide what to and what not to buy. While price will pose a challenge for cotton apparel and home furnishing products so long as there is huge overcapacity in polyester production, cotton is likely to continue to compete very well in other purchase decision factors important to consumers, such as comfort, reliability, and trustworthiness. In the area of sustainability, cotton’s image with consumers as the most environmentally safe fiber will only be enhanced as the full impact of global microfiber pollution becomes apparent. Once polyester and other synthetic fibers account for their true costs of production, consumer care, and product final disposal, the slightly higher retail price for quality cotton products will appear very reasonable to consumers, and to those making product design and sourcing decisions.

For more information on the Global Lifestyle Monitor, fiber economics, and fiber sustainability, contact your local COTTON USA representative (https://cottonusa.org/staff).

1 Source: https://cottonusa.org/uploads/... ; https://www.cottoninc.com/mark...

2 Source: https://www.cottoninc.com/mark...