跳到內容

我們的網站使用 Cookie 和其他技術,以便我們和合作夥伴能夠記住您、了解您如何使用我們的網站,並根據您的興趣為您提供通信。若要進一步瞭解本網站上使用的 Cookie,以及您可以選擇停用 Cookie 的程度,請按這裡。  若繼續使用本網站,則代表您同意使用 Cookie 和遵守我們的隱私保護政策
您可以透過本網站向我們提供您的電子郵件地址等個人資訊。  若要進一步瞭解我們如何蒐集、使用並分享這類資訊,請按這裡。  若向我們提供個人資訊,則代表您同意我們遵循我們的隱私保護政策使用該資訊。

ICE Futures 期貨合約可以降低採購棉花風險

「唯一的常態就是變化」-- 這句名言可說是全球棉花市場這幾年來的最佳寫照。無論中國政府儲備庫存量的政策是增或減、關稅加徵或取消、面對WTO對產棉國棉農補貼方案的指責、各國匯率及能源和肥料價格的波動、改變消費者對於不同纖維的偏好態度,棉農、棉商、紡織廠和品牌經營者所面臨的挑戰,都形成前所未有的影響和衝擊。

這些挑戰也帶來新的契機,有助於企業強化財務狀況和競爭優勢。若想要充分把握商機,就必須周延規劃、審慎投資時間和財務資源,並使用正確的工具。即使在充滿挑戰的時局,透過 ICE Futures U.S. Cotton No. 2® 期貨交易和選擇權合約這兩項工具,棉花產業也能締造成長佳績。

在期貨市場將近 150 年的歷史上,No.2 合約固定維持兩項核心功能:期貨價格和期貨風險控管。No.2 期貨合約提供唯一基準指標,可得知每磅棉花的市場公認價值 (在短期或未來三年內交割的合約)。

ICE Cotton No. 2® 期貨合約是公開透明的交易平台,無障礙進行交易,並可即時看見近期和遠期交割月份的買賣交易價格,使全球任何地點的市場交易者掌握最新動態 - ICE 甚至可以用行動裝置接收價格資訊。憑藉 ICE 的棉花價格資訊,棉農、棉商、紡織廠或品牌通路商皆可制定明智的商業決策。

不但可以了解即時的交易價格,運用 ICE No.2 選擇權合約,亦可觀察當期期貨交易的走勢,預期未來市場價格,利於掌握期貨價格的趨勢。

ICE No.2 期貨交易和選擇權合約有助於相關業者做風險管理,以利在生產、交易和使用棉花纖維時,可更有效控管棉花價格變動的風險。有別於市面上其他的交易合約或非交易所的交易工具,在 ICE 進行的交易擁有中央結算所的財務保障,可消除私人雙邊協議中的交易風險。

若要善用這些工具,不僅必須充分瞭解期貨和選擇權的合約交易條款,也應當掌握期貨和選擇權之間關鍵差異,辨別特定市場參與者最適合的產品,包括評估公司的市場定位、財務狀況、風險概況和風險承受能力,以及是否能夠制定最佳合約運用策略,有效控管棉花價格風險。

與其拒絕接受「變化就是常態」的觀念,不如將變局視為契機,並學習如何使用正確工具,創造更高利潤:ICE Cotton No.2 期貨和選擇權將是您的最佳利器。

Skip to content

Our site uses cookies and other technologies so that we, and our partners, can remember you, understand how you use our site, and serve you communications in line with your interests. To learn more about the use of cookies on this site and the extent to which you can opt-out of cookies click here. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
You may provide personal information, such as your email address, to us via this website. For more information about how we collect, use, and share such information click here. By providing personal information to us, you agree to our use of that information in accordance with our Privacy Policy.

ICE Futures and Contracts Reduce Cotton-Buying Risk

The only constant is change--a saying that has never seemed more true than over the past few years in the global cotton market. Whether it’s Chinese government policies on stocking/de-stocking, the imposition and unwinding of tariffs, WTO challenges to programs designed to support domestic growers, gyrations in key currencies and in energy and fertilizer prices, or changing consumer preferences for different fibers and attributes, the challenges facing cotton producers, merchants, mills and end users have never seemed larger or more impactful.

Challenges also bring opportunities which can help businesses strengthen their financial and competitive position. Making the most of opportunities requires careful planning, thoughtful investment of time and financial resources, and use of the correct tools. The ICE Futures U.S. Cotton No. 2® futures and options contracts are two of the tools that can help the cotton industry grow even in challenging times.

The two core functions of the No. 2 contract have not changed over the almost 150-year life of the futures contract: Price Discovery and Price Risk Management. The No. 2 futures contract provides the single best benchmark of the market consensus value of a pound of cotton, for delivery in the near term and three years out into the future.

The ICE Cotton No. 2® futures contract price is derived in an open, regulated, transparent trading platform with minimal barriers to entry. Bid, Ask and Trade prices for nearby and distant expiry months are published instantly and in real-time, accessible to any market observer anywhere in the world - ICE can even deliver prices to a cell phone. ICE cotton prices can then be used to help drive business decisions for cotton producers, merchandizers, mills or finished product sellers.

In addition to discovering the current absolute price of cotton, the ICE No. 2 options contract prices also provide the best-available market consensus on expectations for future volatility in prices, via analysis of the implied volatility levels generated by current futures trades.

The ICE No. 2 futures and option contracts allow market participants to manage the cotton price risk they face in producing, trading or using cotton fiber, by taking a position in the futures and option contracts. Unlike swaps or other non-exchange-traded tools available, trading on ICE is backed by the financial safeguards of a central clearing house that eliminates the counterparty risk inherent in a private, bilateral agreement.

Using these tools requires a thorough understanding of the futures and options contract terms. There are key differences between futures and options that can make one or the other more suitable for a particular market participant, including the proper analysis of a firm’s commercial market position, financial position, risk profile and risk tolerance, and the ability to strategize the best possible use of the contracts to manage cotton price risk.

Instead of trying to fight the idea that change is a constant, see change as an opportunity - and invest in learning about the right tools to capitalize on that opportunity: ICE Cotton No. 2 futures and options.